Healthcare Certification

Healthcare Certification

Why do you need healthcare certification? There are many reasons why you do.

To start with, a health care certification means that you have met the minimum requirements for training, licensure, and English proficiency in order to be able to fulfill your professional role. When you have a healthcare certification, it would serve as an endorsement from an impartial third body that you are competent and qualified for your chosen career path.

Another reason is that it adds credibility to your profession as a health care worker. Being certified to perform a job competently means that you have all the necessary qualifications, skills, and knowledge of techniques required in your profession. People will trust you to do a good job, and you gain confidence in your own abilities.

In order to get a health care certification, you must first apply for it with a certification board in the area where you intend to practice. Certification boards in each county or state may have different eligibility requirements so it’s probably a good idea to check with your local board.

Who Needs Health care Certification?

Generally, health care professionals who can benefit from a health care certification include the following:

* Licensed practical nurse
* Licensed vocational nurse
* Registered nurse
* Occupational therapist
* Physical therapist
* Speech language pathologist
* Speech language audiologist
* Medical technologist
* Clinical laboratory scientist
* Physician assistant
* Medical technician
* Clinical laboratory technician

Health care Certification for Non-US Citizens

Healthcare professionals who are non-US citizens are required to get a certification for healthcare professionals before they can practice in the United States. The only exceptions to this requirement are physicians and any non-immigrant coming to receive training in a healthcare occupation.

Nurses are required to present a healthcare certification document from either the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) or a certification of equal standing from an organization with equivalent credentials. Both immigrant and non-immigrant healthcare workers must comply with this requirement.

Besides the CGFNS, organizations currently authorized to issue healthcare Relationship Advice

certification include:

* The National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy
* The Foreign Credentialing Commissions on Physical Therapy

English Language Testing Organizations

This applies to aliens coming to work in the United States as healthcare professionals. For purposes of healthcare certification, they are required to meet certain English language proficiency standards set by authorized English language testing organizations, such as:

* Educational Testing Service (ETS)
* Test of English in International Communication (TOEIC)
* International English Language Testing System (IELTS)

The acceptable scores in the English Language Test for health care certification differ with each particular practice, as determined by the Secretary of Health and Human Services who is vested with the sole discretion to determine such.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *